Take an ultra leap without looking

I’ve never been the kind of person to leap before I look until recently.

Last year, I made a decision to do a half ironman before I even knew how to properly swim. It’s still the plan for September.

My Canadian twitter friends were tweeting the other day about a race called the Midnight Moose, which caught my attention. As it turns out, it’s an ultra marathon in Quebec, and now I’m planning on running it in 2018. Just like that.

They invited me to come run with them, and I’ve wanted to run an ultra marathon for years. What better way to start than with a 50K overnight trail race in Ottawa? The website warns it’s a tough race and that scares me a little, so hey, I’m there.

These aren’t, of course, immediate leaps because the training takes time. But it’s good to just jump and go for something, especially if you’re like me and agonize over decisions. With decisions like that, you learn to trust yourself and you learn your own strength.

Running a nighttime trail ultra is going to be really hard. I don’t completely know what I’m getting into, and that’s the whole point. We can do hard things.

And maybe it’ll even make me an honorary Canadian.

Leave a Reply

