This time it’s for someone else

I’ve signed up to volunteer at my first race, the Ann Arbor Marathon at the end of March.

Guys, I’ve been running for 18 years and run in a lot of races (maybe 100. Or more. I don’t know how many, but it’s a lot). There’s a bit of embarrassment that I haven’t shown up to support my fellow athletes and the wonderful people who host the races.

And they make a difference. Patient, kind volunteers have helped me out a lot out on the race course. It’s high time I give back and cheer on those incredible runners.

With the current, divisive and fearful climate we have in the United States right now, the best thing I can think of to do is give.

In 2016 and so far this year, I’ve made several small donations for incredibly serious problems like helping kids in Flint with their health and a mobile medical hospital in Aleppo, to my favorite podcast and helping an eventer achieve a dream. I’ve never made so many donations in my life, and I haven’t been a person to volunteer.

I’m writing this not to brag, but to own up to my past of not giving a lot. I used to feel quite selfish, but also felt I didn’t have much to give. Being a journalist, I don’t have a ton of extra income, and typical volunteering at a soup kitchen has never been interesting to me. Over time, I’ve discovered I do love helping people, but I know it doesn’t have to be through an obvious channel.

Most importantly, I’ve grown from a place of scarcity to abundance, and I’m finding more room to give. That’s a wonderful feeling, and I look forward to giving more to this world with a big smile and lots of love.

On March 26, I’ll see you at the finish line!

 

Leave a Reply

