I’m back in the water again

The year is off to a great start for me.

I’ve been going to bed early, eating well and doing strength and conditioning or yoga every day. I had some really good runs, got in a ride on the trainer and went for my first swim in months.

After doing a strength workout that included bear and panther crawls yesterday, I was really sore in the pool today. It hurt, but that’s OK. I swam a mile and felt better throughout as I reacquainted myself with the water.

It’s amazing to me, though, that I can go for months without swimming and swim 1600 meters. I couldn’t have done that a year ago.

The pull buoy helped to reestablish my stroke and build up strength again.

And the pool. The pool! It’s close to work, and it’s pretty nice. Hardly anyone was there tonight so I had my own lane. There are windows, unlike the last place I tried, and it doesn’t feel like a dungeon. While I dislike swimming in a 25m pool, I’ll manage.

It feels so good to be building habits. Unlike in recent attempts to make these behaviors stick, something is different this time. I’m different. One of the coolest experiences I had in 2016 was finally, completely accepting myself and where I am. It’s funny, although I liked myself and practiced self-compassion, I kept pushing myself to be different. But not until we accept something can we move past it (thanks for that one, Star Trek: The Next Generation). Last year I really stopped resisting my own nature, and things are falling into place.

The windchill was -2 degrees. I went running outside.
The windchill was -2 degrees. I went running outside.

I’ve wanted to build these habits for a while, but I kept getting in my own way. There’s a lot of work to do, and it’s only been a week. Yet all of these behaviors feel more natural and they aren’t new. They’ve been what I’ve been trying to do all along.

My anxiety is down because I’m getting my ass off the couch and doing the stuff I want to do. Amazing how that works. I feel incredibly energized, and I always thought of a lack of energy as being the number one barrier to success. Now I know how to manage my energy by not being so reactive. Again, it’s only been a week, and I’ve had a lot of time off in the past two months. I’m refreshed, and things are going to get tougher. That’s OK. I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

