Crying, laughing, Molly Weasley and this shitty year

I’m generally not a big crier. I’ve always hated crying because it gives me a headache.

Except this year, I’ve cried a lot.

I went through difficult personal things that left me reeling and emotional. And running has been pretty tough. And you’ll all know about the famous people who’ve died this year and difficult world events and then that damned, bitter election process.

So yeah, definitely some tears.

This morning I was reading Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban and started tearing up again thinking about Molly Weasley.

She had all those kids and she was so good to Harry. She made him part of the family, and she’s just so special, and she’s been through so much. Oh Molllllyyy.

Isn't she the best?!
Isn’t she the best?!

Then I started laughing because sometimes, the only thing you can do is laugh. Right?

The poet Jack Gilbert knew what he was talking about when he wrote the line, “We must have the stubbornness to accept our gladness in the ruthless furnace of this world.”

Last night, I drank Buffalo Trace bourbon, ate my favorite ice cream and laughed to tears watching clips from the Graham Norton Show. Admittedly I overdid it with the whiskey (hey, I’ve got the day off), but I feel much lighter today.

From my social media feed and talking to family, friends and colleagues, it’s clear there’s a lot of anxiety about the future. We all know we’re going to have to be there for one another, and we know we have to be OK ourselves in order to do that. Please, do me a favor, get together and laugh. Laugh your asses off. Laugh until you’re crying and you can’t breathe. Summon your inner Fred and George and make people laugh.

Be stubbornly glad with me, and let’s go do some good in this world.

Leave a Reply

