That first swim was a rough one

I started swimming again after a two-month hiatus for marathon training and a short break after the marathon.

Last night, I went to a local high school pool and swam a mile. You know, it sucked.

The 25-meter pool was in a cavernous, soulless space. It was dark and cold, a far cry from the beautiful, 50-meter outdoor pool I swam in all summer.

The sharp chlorine stung.

It felt like a treadmill, and I was rusty and exhausted before I even started.

“I. Don’t. Want. To. Be. Here.” I told myself again and again. But on, I swam. I swam a mile, and then left. I didn’t feel better when I finished.

Now I’m exploring another option for swimming this winter because I can’t stomach the thought of spending every Saturday morning there. And the hours are limited and inconvenient, anyway.

I’m writing this as an example of what life is. Sometimes it just sucks, and sometimes there isn’t a silver lining, and you just have to push on.

2 thoughts on “That first swim was a rough one

  1. It’s so hard to get in the water once it gets cold outside. I haven’t been in the pool in two weeks. I know I need to go because my mad swim skillz will get rusty if I don’t, but…bleh, hard to get excited about it right now.

    Running, on the other hand…the cooler temps have been amazing for that! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yas running!

      The pool I swam in was actually too warm, so that wasn’t a problem, but I can see how it’ll be less fun when it’s snowing and I don’t want to leave the pile of blankets on my couch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

