Just get your ass out the door

Once I successfully signed up for the 2016 Bayshore Half Marathon (which is hard to do), my goal was singular: PR.

My half marathon PR of 1:39:25 is from the same race in 2013. I’m now three years stronger than I was, and hopefully, three years faster.

But then life happened. With the race at the end of May, I’m forced to adjust my goals.

What I didn’t expect was for my life to change significantly in early January. I got a new role at my job, which is both exciting and exhausted. I didn’t expect to work seven consecutive days every two weeks, which is tough to do. I didn’t expect my office to be short as many people as we are, which puts a bigger burden on all of us. And I didn’t expect running to be as difficult as it has been since November.

For the most part, my energy is going toward everything but running. Running is what has been breaking, and even the strain of that is tough on me. I haven’t felt good for months. My legs are consistently heavy even though my training load isn’t significant right now. I’d rather sit on my couch than go run. And it sucks.

Stressing about not running well is not going to help me run well. That’s why I’ve decided to train as best as I can and let the chips fall where they may at Bayshore. I’ll go to that race and give it my best shot with whatever fitness I’ve got on the day.

Then I’ve got until the end of October to get things under control again (and shortly, I’ll be working fewer weekends) for a PR attempt at the Marine Corps Marathon. At the very least, I’ll have a decent base fitness to work with.

Slowly but surely, my running is coming around. I’ve had at least a few good runs in recent weeks, and I’m starting to build momentum. Heck, I even enjoyed a solid 12-mile run the other week!

Sometimes running is about PRs and sometimes it’s just about getting your ass out the door.

I’ll continue to get my ass out the door until I’m back on the PR level.

2 thoughts on “Just get your ass out the door

  1. Glad to hear you’ll be working fewer weekends soon. My staff has been short-handed for about five months now and I know how brutal it can be. Sometimes I come home and don’t want to move off the couch. Hang in there.

    Like

    1. We’ve got new people starting Monday, thankfully. And soon I’m pretty sure more than two of us will do weekends. And I’ll be able to sleep!

      Like

Leave a Reply

