It doesn’t matter if you don’t feel like it

I’ve had constant, nasty sinus problems since December. A headache nearly every day since the end of November.

Compiled with major changes at my job (which rock my life in a great way but nonetheless are emotional), I’ve been exhausted. Last Saturday, I think I was awake for a total of five hours. My body was crying out for rest.

Self care and sleep have been that the top of my to-do list, but my running has suffered. January is my time for base phase, so I’m supposed to be building up and doing a few strength workouts and shorter long runs. That hasn’t been happening. My running has been inconsistent these past few weeks.

My solution is to be kind to myself—C’est la vie—and to keep going.

I subscribe to insightful emails from Nicole Antoinette. In her most recent email, she described difficulties she’s had with running, and acknowledged it doesn’t take motivation to get started.

The key to achievement is “action –> momentum –> motivation –> (repeat that loop over and over) –> achievement,” she wrote.

Yes. All of this.

After a long day week at work, I bundled up and headed out to run four miles on Thursday evening. Thankfully, the temperatures had warmed slightly and the ice had melted off the sidewalks and rail trail. The run was just OK, but I felt great when I was finished. There was relief for getting in the run and not having that empty feeling when I don’t run.

This is what it’s all about: getting out there and doing shit anyway. It doesn’t matter if you feel like it or not. We’ll never get anything done if we wait until we feel like it because there’s always a reason to not feel like it.

Because if it’s not sinus problems, it’s a long day at work and you’re freaking tired, it’s cold temperatures that make it hard to get moving, it’s icy roads that direct you to the stupid treadmill, it’s boring running routes…this is the world we live in. This is every single day.

I write this to remind myself more than anything. For too long, I’ve been sabotaging myself because I haven’t felt like doing what I need to, and because I’m certain anyone reading this will understand.

This is a kick in the ass that I need because my goals aren’t just going to magically happen. It takes months and years of plain old work.

Motivation will not save you. The only thing that will is action.

Leave a Reply

